Boxing News

2009 BWAA dinner notes!

Click the photo to go to the next photo
Showtime’s ShoBox announcer Steve Farhood (L) received The James J. Walker award for long and meritorious service at the 2009 Boxing Writers Association of America dinner, Friday night at Capitale in NY City. Farhood was presented the award by his best friend and co-anchor, Nick Charles. Many members of the Showtime/ShoBox family were on hand to support Steve Farhood as well as all the other award winners at the dinner. Isreal Vazquez (pictured) vs Rafael Marquez III won The Harry Markson Award for fight of the year which aired on SHOWTIME 3/1/08. It was reported by Marquez’s promoter, that “Rafael was in a minor car accident on his way to the airport in Mexico. Marquez is OK, just some minor scratches, but he missed his flight to the dinner.” Award-winning photographers Marty Rosengarten of Ringside Photo (L) and Chris Farina (R) of Top Rank won first place awards in the feature and action photo categories, respectively. And, yes, Manny Pacquiao did arrive on time to receive his 2008 Fighter of the Year award.

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.