Feature Story

2012 Florida Boxing Hall of Fame Inductions

By Christopher Cook
Photos: Christopher Cook

The Florida Boxing Hall of Fame family grew by twenty-one, as the Class of 2012 was inducted this afternoon. A mixture of fighters, media, participants, promoters, doctors, and trainers made for a memorable afternoon, one where greats of the past met greats of the present. The class of 2012 included the great Roberto Duran and Aaron Pryor, great trainers Jim McLoughlin and John Russell, one of the most influential women in the sport Dana Jamison of Don King Productions among others.

Held at the beautiful Westshore Wyndham Hotel in Tampa, Florida, not even the torrential rainfall of Tropical Storm Debby could stop the hundreds that attended this event. Those that attended were treated to the lesser known side of boxing, the personal side, the relationships built over years in the sport. Most know only have the action that happens inside the squared-circle, and not of the sacrifices made by families, friends, and boxers to pursue their pugilistic dream. Sitting back and listening to the inductees speak of their history, stories, and experiences displayed the human side of the sport, creating memories for all that attended.

The full list of inductees are: (fighters) China Alvarez, Steve Carr, Scott Clark, Roberto Duran, Jimmy Leto, Danny Nardico, Aaron Pryor, Chico Vejar, (trainer) Jim McLoughlin, John Russell, (promoter) Dave White, (media) Bob Halloran, Gerald Rinaldi, Ron Ross, (offical) Mark Conn, Bill Connors, Stu Winston, (participant) Dana Jamison, Jack Leonard, Dr. Stanley Simpson, and Jimmy Waldrop.

Congratulations to all of the Florida Boxing Hall of Fame 2012 class, you’ve earned this prestigious honor. We look forward to seeing all of you next year at the Hall of Fame.

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.