Boxing News

2014 Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame Inductees

The Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame has announced a lineup of 18 honorees, 13 living, to its second annual Class Of Inductees. The 18 inductees come from 10 categories, two of which were new: Adoptive Residents (for boxers who moved to and resided in Nevada after their careers), and Pioneer Class (for those who prominently contributed to Nevada Boxing prior to 1960).

The 2014 Class of Inductees is dominated by former Heavyweight Champions. They are “Big” George Foreman, Evander “Real Deal” Holyfield who were voted in as Non-Nevada residents, the late Sonny Liston as a Nevada-resident, Joe Louis as an Adoptive Nevada resident and Jack Dempsey in the Pioneer Class. Other boxers elected in various categories include “Hands of Stone” Roberto Duran, the always exciting Cornelius Boza-Edwards, and the “Old Mongoose” Archie Moore. They will be enshrined at a gala dinner this summer, along with Top Rank matchmaker Bruce Trampler, trainer Miguel Diaz, Caesars CEO Clifford Perlman, Hotelier Steve Wynn, NSAC officials Luther Mack and Chuck Minker, referees Richard Steele and Kenny Bayless, ring announcer Colonel Bob Sheridan and scribe Kevin Iole. The Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame Induction Dinner and Ceremony will be held this summer in Las Vegas at a site and date to be determined.

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.