Australian update

Brock Ellis

By Ray Wheatley–World of Boxing

Australian light heavyweight Nick Lantouris (10-8-4, 1 KO) will be in action on Friday when he will clash with Dane Campbell (2-1, 1 KO) over eight rounds with the vacant Victorian State title up for grabs at the Box Hill Town Hall in Victoria, Australia. The more experienced Lantouris, 35 years, is the favorite to defeat Campbell. On undercard bouts, junior welterweight Dianne Prazak (0-1) will meet debutant Kay Hodson over four rounds; heavyweight Matt Muir (0-1) will punch it out with debutant Stephen Duvniak over four rounds. Promoter: Peter Maniatis.

Australian 130 pounder Leigh Lindgren (4-6-2, 2 KOs) will return to ring action on Saturday when he will clash with Quinton Donohue (6-8-1, 1 KO) over ten rounds with the vacant World Boxing Foundation Asia Pacific super featherweight title up for grabs at Ingham Showgrounds in Ingham, Queensland, Australia. Donohue, 31 years, lost to former WBA super featherweight champion Yodsadan Sor Nanthchai and also lost in five rounds to Lindgren in 2009. Lindgren, 26 years, lost to WBO #9 Daniel Iannazzo in 2007 via a points decision.On the undercard, light heavyweight Shaun Quagliotto (4-4-2, 3 KOs) will start hot favorite to defeat Tainu Crouch (0-3-1) over four rounds. Promoter: RMK Promotions.

Tongan cruiserweight, Walter Pupu’a (11-7, 8 KOs), will challenge for the vacant World Boxing Foundation cruiserweight title when he steps in the ring to punch it out with Anthony “The Bull” McCracken (12-4, 4 KOs) over ten rounds at the Wagga Wagga Basketball Stadium, NSW, Australia on Saturday. Pupu’a lost to WBA #7 Tim Bell and Roy Jones Jr’s sparring partner, Rayco Saunders (16-12-2) via points decisions in 2009 bouts. McCracken scored the best win of his career in April 2010 when he defeated recently crowned commonwealth cruiserweight champion Dominic Vea via a split point eight round decision. In undercard bouts, middleweight Sean Bailey and junior welterweight Johnny Sheferaw of Ethiopia, will be in action. Promoter: Charlie Lipartota.

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.