Boxing News

Briscoe Award Nominations announced for 2012

By John DiSanto

The nominations for the Sixth Annual Briscoe Awards have been announced. The Briscoe Award, named after Philly legend Bennie Briscoe, honors boxers in two categories every year: “Philly Fighter of the Year” and “Philly Fight of the Year” The nominees for the “2012 Philly Fighter of the Year” are: 1) Danny Garcia, 2) Bryant Jennings and 3) Gabriel Rosado. All three fighters had career-best years in 2012, which makes the choice especially difficult. Past winners include Steve Cunningham, Bernard Hopkins and Danny Garcia. The nominees for the “2012 Philly Fight of the Year” are: 1) Tevin Farmer W6 Tim Witherspoon Jr., 2) Bryant Jennings W10 Maurice Byarm; 3) Angel Ocasio D6 Jason Sosa II; and 4) Eric Hunter W10 Jerry Belmontes.

The Briscoe Awards are presented by the website and voting for both awards is now open to the public. Winners will be announced later this summer and the awards will be given out at a free event in October.

Each winner receives the Briscoe Award, a trophy statuette in the likeness of middleweight contender Benny Briscoe. Briscoe, who is considered one of the best fighters to never win a world title. Briscoe (66-24-5-1, 53 KOs) fought professionally from 1962 to 1982 and contended for the middleweight championship three times.

To read about all the nominees and cast your vote, visit

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.