Boxing News

Cazares missed Big Macs

By Joe Koizumi

In any title bout, a draw means the champion’s successful defense and the challenger’s failure to wrest the belt. Mexican challenger in the WBA 115-pound title bout on Wednesday, Hugo Cazares still stays here in Japan as there’s no direct flight back to Mexico until Saturday. The crestfallen Mexican said, “My failure to raise my weight up to 130 pounds accounted for the result of draw.” The Japan Boxing Commission (JBC) makes it a rule to have boxers scale in again just prior to their fights in order to check the actual difference between the contestants. Cazares tipped the beam at 128, two pounds short of his prediction as well as fourteen pounds more than that at the weigh-in. The flamboyant and eloquent ex-WBO champ Cazares explained, “I missed Big Mac.” Then, how many Big Macs did he need to eat for the additional two pounds?











    world boxing association

    world boxing council



    boxing news tips






    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.