Boxing News

CBHOF annual dinner

The Connecticut Boxing Hall of Fame has selected unbeaten world light heavyweight champion Chad Dawson of New Haven as its 2009 Pro Fighter of the Year. It is the third time in the last four years Dawson has won the award. Manchester featherweight Matt Remillard won the award in 2008. Dawson (29-0) won a decision over Glen Johnson on Nov. 7 to keep his IBO light heavyweight title while adding the WBC interim title to his collection. The CBHOF achievement award will be presented to Paul Cichon of East Hartford, the former director of the Manchester Police Athletic League boxing program. The CBHOF Amateur Fighter of the Year is Luis Rosa of New Haven. Phyllis Roy of Glastonbury, who is affiliated with USA Boxing in Connecticut, is the Official of the Year. John Scully, Vito Tallarita, Danny Cosgrove, Julie Kogon, Sal DiMartino and Jack Delaney comprise the 2009 induction class. CBHOF’s annual dinner will take place on Nov. 21 at the Mohegan Sun. Showtime boxing analyst Steve Farhood will be the master of ceremonies. Tickets can be obtained by calling Sherman Cain at 860-646-0500 (extension 321) or Mike Murtha at 860 862-7586.

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.