Boxing Result

Juanma, Donaire KO foes

Photos by Tom Casino/SHOWTIME

WBO Featherweight Champion Juan Manuel Lopez (29-0, 26 KOs) scored a spectacular second round KO over Bernabe Concepcion (28-4-1, 15 KOs) on Saturday night at the Coliseo de Puerto Rico José Miguel Agrelot in Hato Rey, Puerto Rico. In a wild round one, Juanma dropped Concepcion and went for the KO but was knocked down himself by Concepcion near the end of the round. Lopez roared back to floor Concepcion twice in round two, the second time the bout was stopped . Time was 2:37. Next up for Juanma is a bout with Mexican ring legend Rafael Marquez.

WBA interim super flyweight champion Nonito ‘Filipino Flash’ Donaire (24-1, 16 KOs) scored an eighth round TKO over Hernan ‘Tyson’ Marquez (27-2, 20 KOs). Donaire fought from the southpaw stance for the first four rounds and had mixed results. He switched back to his normal orthodox stance in round five and dropped Marquez with a series of big punches. Donaire was in command from that point on. The end came in round eight when Marquez was floored by a hard uppercut in round eight. Time was 2:59.

In a clash for the NABO WBO super bantamweight title, Jonathan Oquendo (19-2, 12 KOs) won by KO at 1:05 of the ninth round in a spectacular bout against Eden Sonsona (19-6, 6 KOs). Sonsona was down in round eight and then in the ninth for the count.

Hot bantamweight prospect McJoe Arroyo (4-0, 2 KOs) won by TKO in round six when the referee stop his fight with Jason Rorie (6-8-2, 3 KOs).

Cruiserweight Olympian Carlos Negron (10-0, 7 KOs) took a four round unanimous decision over Gustavo Enriquez (15-10, 12 KOs). All the three judges scored 40-35 for Negron.

Lightweight Jose Gonzalez (11-0, 7 KOs) won by KO at 1:49 of the first round when downed Matthew Robinson (3-2, 1 KO) with a right hand.

Heavyweight Victor Bisbal (17-1, 12 KOs) won by KO at 2:33 of the first round when David Whittom (10-13-1, 6 KOs) went down for the count.

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.