Boxing news, results, rankings, schedule and more. Boxing News -- 24 hours/day - Reload often! | UPDATED TODAY
editor@fightnews.comContinuously updated all day, every day!
Home Boxing Schedule Boxing Rankings Boxing Results Español Fightnews Team

Boxing Result

Judah wins IBF jr welter belt

By Kurt Wolfheimer at ringside
Photos by Marty Rosengarten/

Former two-division world champion Zab “Super” Judah (41-6, 28 KOs) claimed the vacant IBF junior welterweight championship with an impressive seventh round TKO over over Kaizer Mabuza (23-8-3, 14 KOs) on Saturday night at the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey. Now working with former champion Pernell Whitaker, Zudah put on a very “Sweet Pea”esque performance displaying outstanding speed and defensive skills for the first six rounds, then exploded in the seventh to put Mabuza out on his feet and get the stoppage with his follow up barrage. Time was :59.

Middleweight Tarvis Simms (27-1-1, 11 KOs) won an uneventful eight rounder against John Mackey (13-6-2, 6 KOs) by scores of 78-74, 79-73, 80-72.

Welterweight Jose Peralta (5-1, 3 KOs) won Clifford McPherson (2-5-1, 1 KO) couldn’t continue due to an apparent hand injury. Time was 2:44.

Lightweight Shemuel Pagan (2-0) needed just 93 seconds to annihilate Marcos Garcia (0-4).

Welterweight Chris Crosby (6-1, 1 KO) won a four round split decision over Greg Hackett (2-6). Scores were 39-37, 40-36 for Crosby, 39-37 for Hackett.

Debuting Vinny O’Brien won when the corner of David Navarro (0-2) pulled him out after round three.

    For all the latest boxing news, click here.

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.