Boxing news, results, rankings, schedule and more. Boxing News -- 24 hours/day - Reload often! | UPDATED TODAY
editor@fightnews.comContinuously updated all day, every day!
Boxing News Boxing Schedule Boxing Rankings Español Fightnews Team

Boxing Result

Adamek KOs Banks!

Photo: Ed Mulholland

Photo: Ed Mulholland

By Andreas Hale at ringside

IBF cruiserweight world champion Tomasz Adamek (37-1, 25 KOs) retained his world title with an impressive eighth round KO over previously unbeaten Johnathon Banks (20-1, 14 KOs) on Friday night at the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey. It took Adamek five rounds to figure Banks out, but after that Adamek took over, finally dropping Banks twice in round eight before referee Eddie Cotton waved off the bout. Time was 1:30.

In an IBF middleweight eliminator, Giovanni Lorenzo (27-1, 19 KOs) scored an explosive second round knockout of Dionisio Miranda (19-3-2, 17 KOs). It was a big right hand that spectacularly laid out Miranda for the count. Time was 2:48. Lorenzo is now the mandatory challenger for IBF middleweight champion Arthur Abraham.
In an upset, super middleweight Don Mouton (8-3-1, 7 KOs) scored an eighth round TKO over 2000 Olympian Jerson Ravelo (19-4, 12 KOs). Mouton dropped Ravelo in the eighth and got the stop with his follow-up barrage at the :49 mark. Mouton was down 68-65 on two of the three scorecards going into the eighth and final round (he was up 67-66 on the other).

Unbeaten welterweight Henry Crawford (21-0-1, 9 KOs) cruised to a six round unanimous nod over Keenan Collins (12-5-2, 8 KOs). Scores 60-54, 60-54, 60-53.

Unbeaten junior welterweight Jeremy Bryan (9-0, 4 KOs) outpointed Osvaldo Rivera (2-1-1, 1 KO) over six by scores of 60-54, 60-54, 59-55.

Unbeaten welterweight Jesse Lubash (10-0, 6 KOs) scored a second round TKO over veteran Chucky ‘T’ Tschorniawsky (25-10-1, 14 KOs). Time was 1:22.

Unbeaten lightweight Anthony Flores (7-0, 4 KOs) outpointed previously unbeaten Ikem Orji (4-1, 1 KO) over six by scores of 58-56 on all cards.

    For all the latest boxing news, click here.

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.