TONIGHT: “Battle in the Ballroom”

WBC #7 flyweight contender Manny “Suavecito” Roman (14-0-1, 5 KOs) returns to action tonight against Anthony Villarreal (8-2, 4 KOs) in the main event at the “Battle in the Ballroom” event at the Irvine Marriott. The 21 year-old Roman and 22 year-old Villarreal will battle for the vacant WBC Youth Intercontinental flyweight title. Also in action, one of Southern California top amateur stars makes his pro debut, as Hugo “The Boss” Centeno Jr faces John Dunham (0-2) in a four-round welterweight contest. Centeno had an 85-5 amateur record plus he won Jr. Olympics and PAL national titles. The seven bout card features top local talent from across the State of California and the west coast.
Special guests include the legendary Sugar Ray Leonard, “Ferocious” Fernando Vargas, Jorge “The Clown Prince of Boxing” Paez, “Mighty” Mike Anchondo and current WBA female super featherweight champion Kina Malpartida. Englebrecht said: “This is the first time that I have had five former or current world champions at a ‘Battle in the Ballroom’ event.” The promoter was quick to note that over 36 current or former world champions have fought at the Marriott during in 25-year history of the “Battle in the Ballroom” series.
Another highlight of this special night will be the second induction ceremony for the “Battle in the Ballroom Hall of Fame” which will include former WBO junior lightweight champ “Mighty” Mike Anchondo; former California State super bantamweight champion George “Rocky” Garcia; former California State welterweight champion Ernie Chavez; 90’s light heavyweight standout the late Ernie Magdaleno; and promoter Don Frazier who was the first promoter at the Marriott. Both Garcia and Chavez won their State titles at the Marriott.
Less than a hundred tickets remain for tonight’s event! Doors open at 6:30pm and the first bell rings at 7:30pm. Tickets are available by calling 949-553-0100 or at the box office.

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.