Garcia wins Briscoe Award as Philly Fighter Of The Year

By John DiSanto; Photo by Gary Purfield

WBA and WBC jr welterweight champion Danny Garcia was awarded the Briscoe Award as “2011 Philly Fighter of the Year” at the 5th Annual Briscoe Awards. The Briscoe Awards are inspired by middleweight contender Bennie Briscoe, who is considered one of the best to never win a world title. Briscoe (66-24-5-1, 53 KOs) fought professionally from 1962 to 1982 and contended for the middleweight championship three times. This year Briscoe Awards were also delegated for “Philly Fighter of the Year” and “KO of the Year” (by a Philly fighter). In addition to the annual awards, former world bantamweight champion and living legend Jeff Chandler was presented with a new WBA championship belt and honored with a museum exhibit dedicated to his career. Click here to read about the ceremony and see photos of the winners plus the Jeff Chandler exhibit.

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.