Boxing news, results, rankings, schedule and more. Boxing News -- 24 hours/day - Reload often! | UPDATED TODAY
editor@fightnews.comContinuously updated all day, every day!
Boxing News Boxing Schedule Boxing Rankings Español Fightnews Team


GSP, Carwin win at UFC 111

Photo by Ed Mulholland

Tonight at the Prudential Center in Newark, N.J. at UFC 111: Georges St-Pierre put on a takedown clinic in a lopsided win over Dan Hardy. The champion controlled the tempo and the pace from the outset, putting “The Outlaw” on his back at will.  St-Pierre showcased his submission skills catching Hardy in a tight arm bar and kimura, but was unable to force Hardy to tap. A visibly disappointed St-Pierre said he hoped to finish Hardy and apologized to the capacity crowd for the performance.

Shane Carwin claimed the UFC interim heavyweight championship with a dramatic knockout of former champion Frank Mir at 3:48 of the opening stanza.

The beginning of the end came as Carwin pinned Mir against the cage and reigned down a series of blows that sent Mir crumbling to the canvas. Carwin flattened Mir out and landed several more unanswered shots before the referee stepped in to save the Las Vegan from further damage.

With a 12-0 record, Carwin will likely meet heavyweight champion Brock Lesnar in July for a unification bout.

In front of a home town crowd, Kurt Pellegrino defeated Fabricio Camoes with a rear naked choke at 4:12 of round two.

As a last minute replacement for an injured Thiago Alves, Ben Saunders came up short against Jon Fitch. The American Kickboxing Academy fighter defeated Killa B via unanimous decision.

Jim Miller defeated Mark Bocek via unanimous decision in the night’s first main card bout. All three judges scored the bout 29-28.

Nate Diaz stopped Rory Markham with strikes in the night’s final preliminary bout

In the first preliminary bout on Spike TV, Ricardo Almeida defeated Matt Brown via rear naked choke in the second round.

    For all the latest boxing news, click here.

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.