Boxing Result

Herelius TKOs Arslan

By Karl Freitag
Photos by Eroll Popova

Cruiserweight Steve Herelius (20-1-1, 11 KOs) scored an eleventh round TKO over comebacking former champion Firat Arslan (29-5-1, 18 KOs) to claim the vacant interim version of the WBA world title on Saturday night at the Porsche Arena in Stuttgart, Germany. The lanky Herelius scored from long range with his southpaw jab, but as the bout progressed and he slowed down, Arslan’s pressure paid dividends. Arslan staggered Herelius in round seven and was one punch away from ending it as Herelius wobbled around the ring. Herelius was later deducted a point for a headbutt in round ten by referee Stanley Christodoulou. Arslan appeared to be on the way to a sure win, however after a Herelius uppercut in the eleventh, he suddenly seemed completely exhausted and barely made it back to his stool. The bout was then stopped by trainer Michael Timm between rounds. Arslan was immediately rushed to the hospital.
Jeannine Garside (10-3-1, 4 KOs) overpowered previously unbeaten WIBF/WBC/WBO female featherweight champion Ina Menzer (26-1, 10 KOs) over ten rounds to seize Menzer’s three belts. Garside was strong and aggressive as she forced the fight against Menzer, flooring her in the final moments. Scores were 98-92, 96-94, 96-94.

2009 world amateur champion “Golden Jack” Culcay moved to 5-0 with 3 KOs with a clear six round unanimous decision over Omar Siala (12-13-2, 3 KOs) in a super welterweight match. Scores were 60-54 on all cards.

Unbeaten 2008 Olympic heavyweight gold medalist Rachim Tschachkijew (6-0, 5 KOs) went the distance for the first time in his career. Tschachkijew dominated Lukasz Rusiewicz (8-9, 1 KO) over six rounds, winning 60-54, 60-55, 60-54.

WBO #5 lightweight Matt Zegan (42-5-1, 21 KOs) outpointed Araik Sachbazjan (12-15, 5 KOs) over eight rounds. Scores were 79-73, 77-75, 77-76. Tenth straight loss for Sachbazjan.

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.