Boxing news, results, rankings, schedule and more. Boxing News -- 24 hours/day - Reload often! | UPDATED TODAY
editor@fightnews.comContinuously updated all day, every day!
Boxing News Boxing Schedule Boxing Rankings Español Fightnews Team

Boxing News

Ioka named Japan’s Boxer of the Year

By Joe Koizumi

The Japan Boxing Commission (JBC) and Sports Writers Club have elected the following awardees by evaluating their performance in the previous year:

Boxer of the Year: Kazuto Ioka (WBA light-fly champ)
Technique award: Shinsuke Yamanaka (WBC bantam titlist)
Valuable Victory award: Takashi Uchiyama (WBA super-feather kingpin)
Fighting Spirit award: Yota Sato (WBC super-fly ruler)
Effort award: Kohei Kono (WBA super-fly champ)
Knockout award: Shinsuke Yamanaka
Rookie award: Toshiyuki Igarashi (WBC fly titlist) and Naoya Inoue (a nineteen-year-old 108-pound sensation who easily demolished Filipino and Thai champs in his first pro two outings after winning seven national high school championships)
Fight of the Year: WBC/WBA light-fly unification bout between Kazuto Ioka and Akira Yaegashi on June 20

Female Boxer of the Year: Momo Koseki (WBC atom champ)
Female Fight of the Year: WBA super-fly title bout between Tsunami Tenkai and Naoko Yamaguchi on July 9

Best Amateur Boxer of the Year: Ryota Murata (the Olympic gold medalist in the middleweight category in Lodon)

Their good achievements will be highly expected also this year.

    For all the latest boxing news, click here.

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.