Boxing Result

Khonco wins vacant SA title

By Ron Jackson

Simphiwe Khonco upset the favoured Bongani Mfundisi when he stopped him in the seventh round to win the vacant South African mini flyweight title at the Orient Theatre in East London on Saturday night. In a closely fought contest with both fighters missing badly at times Khonco (47.60kg) appeared the stronger fighter throughout and dropped Mfundisi (47.50kg) with a right to the head in the fourth round. The 25-year-old Mfundisi who is ranked at number one by Boxing SA did well to come back to possibly share the fifth and shade the sixth round. However, Khonco, 26, attacked from the bell in the seventh and backed Mfundisi up against the ropes after landing a flurry of blows that sent him down to the canvas as his corner threw in the towel.

However referee Allen Matakane had already stepped in to wave the fight off at 1 minute 28 seconds into the round.

Mfundisi had to receive attention from the medical staff and was subsequently taken out of the ring on a stretcher to the local hospital. Khonco improved his record to 11-3-4; 4 and Mfundisi dropped to 16-3; 0.

The judges were Lulama Mtya, Andile Matika and Simphiwe Mbini; and the tournament was produced by Mzi Mnguni of Eyethu Boxing Promotions..


Junior featherweight: Devnmore Dumazi (54.65kg) beat Thembelani Mbingo (53.45kg), ko 3; Bantamweight: Sithembiso Faye (51.70kg) beat Sinethemba Stali (51.55kg), pts 4; Mini flyweight: Nhlanhla Ngamntwini (46.65kg) beat Msindisi Mathibe (46.95kg), ko 1; Junior featherweight: Sithembile Luzipho (53.50kg) beat Godfrey Nemukongwe (54.70kg), pts 6; Junior lightweight: Xolani Mcotheli (58.80kg) beat Hlanga Kanzi (56.45kg), tko 3; Bantamweight: Cebo Ngema (53.20kg) beat Madoda Qonono (53.35kg), tko 4; Junior featherweight: Thabo Sonjica (55.15kg) beat Pfariso Nelvhelani (53.90kg), tko 4.

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.