Boxing Result

Lebedev KOs Jones in 10th

By Alexey “Oscar” Potapov

WBO #1 cruiserweight Denis Lebedev (22-1, 17 KOs) scored a brutal tenth round KO over 42-year-old ring legend Roy Jones Jr. (54-8, 40 KOs) on Saturday night at the Sport Complex Krylatskoe in Moscow, Russia. Like Erik Morales a few weeks ago, Jones surprised the naysayers as he repeatedly pot-shotted Lebedev. The larger and more powerful Russian applied pressure and had his moments punishing Jones on the ropes. Lebedev finally got to Jones in the final seconds of the fight and Jones seemed out on his feet as referee Steve Smoger waved it off. Jones then collapsed to the canvas face down. Time was 2:59. Despite suffering his third straight loss, Jones stated “I don’t give up easy. I still might come back.” Lebedev’s trainer Kostya Tzsyu stated that it was a great fight and Lebedev is coming for Danny Green next.

Russian super bantamweight Alexander Bakhtin Bakhtin (27-0, 11 KOs) won a unanimous decision over Jose Angel Beranza (33-20-2, 26 KOs). Bakhtin fought much better than his opponent, but the Mexican survived until the end of the fight. Judge gave the victory to Bakhtin by scores of 100-90 (twice) and 100-91.

Unbeaten Ukrainian NABF light heavyweight champion Ismayl Sillakh (16-0, 13 KOs) won by TKO in the third round over Ugandan Hamza Wandera (12-3-2, 11 KOs). Sillakh seized the initiative and easily beat Wandera. In the third round Ismayl dropped Wandera. He was able to continue but Sillakh’s follow up attack prompted referee Steve Smoger to stop the fight.

The former undisputed lightweight champion Nate Campbell (34-8-1, 25 KOs) won an eight round unanimous decision over Sherzod Nazarov (12-5, 10 KOs). The experienced 39-year-old Campbell controlled the fight and won by scores of 79-73, 79-74 and 80-74.

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.