Boxing news, results, rankings, schedule and more. Boxing News -- 24 hours/day - Reload often! | UPDATED TODAY
editor@fightnews.comContinuously updated all day, every day!
Home Boxing Schedule Boxing Rankings Boxing Results Español Fightnews Team

Boxing News

MacKinnon upsets world rated Flanagan

By Ray Wheatley — World of Boxing

New Zealand light heavyweight Daniel MacKinnon (21-6-1, 9 KOs) outpointed WBO #15 Mark Flanagan (11-4,6KOs) by split decision over twelve rounds at the Greek Club, South Brisbane, Queensland, Australia on Thursday. Scores Phil Austin 116-111, Cyril Cairns 111-115 and Allan Burford 116-111. The Kiwi 175 pounder displayed good skills to outwork the bigger Australian opponent in most of the rounds. (MacKinnon dropped a decision the current IBF middleweight champion Daniel Geale in 2009.)

French lightweight Yoan Portailler (14-3, 6 KOs) stopped Brett William Smith (15-2-1, 7 KOs) in four rounds of a scheduled eight round bout

Light middleweight Shannon King (7-0, 7 KOs) came from behind to stop David Galvin (4-6-3, 1 KO) in nine rounds to capture the Australian title. Galvin had outworked King consistently but in round nine was dropped by a power right hand shot and shortly after was out on his feet when referee Phil Austin saved him from further punishment at 0.49 of the round

Light heavyweight Shane Parry (2-1, 1 KO) outscored Leon James (2-1, 2 KOs) over four rounds.

Welterweight Jezze Carrasco (4-1-1, 1 KO) outpointed Steve Wijangco (5-9-2, 2 KOs) over four rounds.

Promoter Angelo DiCarlo.

    For all the latest boxing news, click here.

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.