Boxing news, results, rankings, schedule and more. Boxing News -- 24 hours/day - Reload often! | UPDATED TODAY
editor@fightnews.com Continuously updated all day, every day!
var ord = window.ord || Math.floor(Math.random() * 1e16); document.write('
Home Boxing Schedule Boxing Rankings Boxing Results Fightnews Team


Boxing News

Mayweather-Maidana 2 PPV to start an hour earlier than standard time

In an innovative move, Showtime Sports, Mayweather Promotions and Golden Boy Promotions have scheduled the “Mayhem: Mayweather vs. Maidana 2” pay-per-view event to start at 8 pm ET/5 pm PT instead of the traditional 9 pm ET/6 pm PT.

“Pay-per-view boxing events have changed, and we think it’s time the scheduling changed too,” said Stephen Espinoza, Executive Vice President and General Manager, Showtime Sports. “Along with our partners at Mayweather Promotions and Golden Boy Promotions, we have been presenting compelling four-fight cards with multiple 12-round world championship bouts. As a result, we’ve seen the start of the main event coming later and later into the night which is not an ideal viewing experience for viewers in the Eastern and Central time zones. No other major sport makes a significant portion of their audiences wait until well past midnight for the peak of the event. Showtime PPV will no longer be one of the exceptions.”

“Mayweather Promotions is excited to be part of this initiative to start the pay-per-view show at 8p.m. ET,” said Leonard Ellerbe, CEO of Mayweather Promotions. “In years past the main event did start earlier and I believe this change is a convenience and great advantage for the paying customer. With Floyd’s fight starting earlier, all of his fans watching will be able to enjoy the event. It works well for both coasts and we very much welcome it.”

Showtime has recently added “Countdown Live” to accompany blockbuster PPV boxing events. The preview show, which airs live on Showtime immediately prior to the start of the PPV, offers a live bout along with live interviews, special features and analysis. On Sept. 13, “Mayweather vs. Maidana 2: Countdown Live” (7 pm ET/4 pm PT on Showtime) will feature a 10-round junior welterweight matchup between John Molina (27-4, 22 KOs) and Humberto Soto (64-8-2, 35 KOs).




    For all the latest boxing news, click here.








    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.