McGee reigns supreme

Photo by Ray Kasprowicz

Octagonside by Anthony Springer Jr. and Andreas Hale

In the main event of Saturday’s TUF 11 Finale, middleweight Court McGee used superior wrestling and jiu jitsu to submit Kris McCray in the second round with rear naked choke. Round one was controlled by the takedowns of McGee as he utilized slick tripping takedowns to put his opponent on the mat. The second round saw the end come as McGee slipped in a tight rear naked choke to force the tap at 3:41. With this win McGee becomes the champion of Season 11 of The Ultimate Fighter.

Matt “The Hammer” Hamill defeated fellow TUF veteran Keith Jardine via majority decision. Scorecards read 29-27 twice and 28-28.

In a vintage performance middleweight Chris “The Crippler” Leben survived an early wrestling attack to hand Aaron Simpson his first professional loss courtesy of a hard left hand. The TKO came at 4:17 of the second round.

Lightweight veteran Denis Siver defeated fellow Octagon-regular Spencer Fischer via unanimous decision.

Middleweight Rich Attonito wore down the young, dangerous Jamie Yager before taking his back and raining down blows late in the second round. The official time of the referee stoppage came at 4:25.

Lightweight John Gunderson defeated Mark Holst via unanimous decision. No scores were announced. Brad Tavares defeated Seth Baczynski via unanimous decision. All three judges scored the bout the same, 29-28. Former Crocodile Hunter bodyguard Kyle Noke stopped Josh Bryant in devastating fashion after landing a hard right hand at 3:12 of the second round. Season 11 standout Chris Camozzi scored a three round unanimous decision over James Hammortree. Scorecards read 30-27 twice and 29-28. Heavyweight Travis Browne made his UFC debut a successful one stopping TUF 10 veteran James McSweeney in the first round via TKO. The official time was 4:32.

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.