Boxing News

Nevada Hall of Fame Inductions

Photos: Mary Ann Owen

Click here for giant photo gallery from our friends at

The Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame held its first-ever induction ceremony and dinner before a sold-out audience of 400 boxing celebrities, dignitaries and fans on Saturday night at the Monte Carlo Las Vegas Resort and Casino. Nineteen inductees from eight categories were enshrined in this inaugural class. Seven boxers were honored for their achievements in the ring. The Nevada resident champions selected for induction are Mike Tyson, Mike McCallum and Diego Corrales. The non-Nevada resident boxers were Sugar Ray Leonard, Mike Tyson, Julio César Chávez, and Oscar De La Hoya.

The other inductees were named from a variety of categories: Trainers, Officials, Executives, Media, Promoters, and Special Contributors and included legendary promoters Bob Arum and Don King, referees Mills Lane and Joe Cortez, and trainers Eddie Futch and Freddie Roach among others.

In addition, undefeated multi-division champion Floyd Mayweather Jr. headed a list of four resident boxers honored with “Nevada Fighter of the Year Awards.” The other three were Layla McCarter (Female Fighter of the Year), Jesse Magdaleno (Prospect of the Year) and Josue Gaytan (Amateur Fighter of the Year).

The Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame was founded in 2012 by noted broadcaster Rich Marotta.

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.