Boxing news, results, rankings, schedule and more. Boxing News -- 24 hours/day - Reload often! | UPDATED TODAY
editor@fightnews.comContinuously updated all day, every day!
Boxing News Boxing Schedule Boxing Rankings Español Fightnews Team

Boxing News

Pathompothong stops Gabejan

Photos: Johnny Chaichotchuang

Classy Thai light welterweight Patomsuk Pathompothong (20-1-1, 12 KOs) stopped Filipino lightweight champion Edgar Gabejan (23-28-5, 7 KOs) at the Pang Mu School, Muang, Maehongson, Thailand on Friday. Gabejan and Pathompothong exchanged heavy blows in the opening round but in round three the hard punching Thai stepped up a gear and dropped his opponent twice, but he recovered well to hear the bell. At 1 minute 11 seconds into round four Gabejan was out on his feet and referee Somsak Sirianant crowned Pathompothong the winner and still IBF Pan Pacific 140 pound champion.

In main supporting contest 2008 Beijing Olympian Amnat Ruenroeng (50, 2 KOs) dominated Danilo Pena (26-13-2, 11 KOs) over six rounds. Pena is a 2010 Filipino super flyweight champion.

Thai light flyweight Fahlan Sakkreerin jr. (14-2, 9 KOs) out pointed Pranpa Maehongson Sportcenter (0-1) over six rounds.

Promoter Jimmy Chaichotchuang said “Pathompothong stopped Gabejan impressively today. In March Gabejan only lost by split decision in twelve to WBA#1 Prawett Singwancha. Also 2008 Olympian Ruenroeng was very good, defeating champion of the Philippines Pena.”

Televised throughout Thailand on Channel Seven Television Network

    For all the latest boxing news, click here.

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.