Boxing Result

Results from Houston

By Peter Lim at ringside

Local fan favorite Tiffany Junot, 8-2-1 (5 KOs),captured the vacant Texas junior welterweight title with an eight-round majority decision over Kita Watkins, 5-6 (1 KO), at the Houston Club in downtown Houston. After two evenly-contested rounds, Junot stepped up the tempo in round three and controlled the action at a frenetic pace for the rest of the fight. Applying suffocating pressure, Junot stalked Watkins around the ring and rained down multi-punch flurries to the head and body forcing Watkins to constant set and reset. Watkins returned fire with precision but simply could not match Junot’s punch output. Scores were 79-73, 79-73 and 76-76. The fight was staged by Savarese Boxing Promotions.

Welterweight Gerardo “Tin Tin” Ibarra raised his record to 8-0 (7 KOs) when his opponent Charles Sims 4-32-1 (2 KOs) capitulated after just 54 seconds of the opening round.

Heavyweight Justin Jones, 8-0 (5 KOs), dropped Charles Spear, 4-8 (4 KOs), for the full count with a left-right to the body in the third round.

Heavyweight Skip Scott, 7-1 (4 KOs), won a unanimous four-round decision over Ross Brantly 2-15-1.

And cruiserweight Willie Edwards won a four-round majority decision over James Johnson, 23-40-3 (13 KOs).

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.