Boxing Result

Khan annihilates Salita in 1

Frank Warren Promotions
Frank Warren Promotions

By Alexey Sukachev

WBA super lightweight champion Amir Khan (22-1, 16 KOs) destroyed previously unbeaten Dmitiry Salita (30-1-1, 16 KOs) in the first round on Saturday night at the Metro Radio Arena in Newcastle, England. Khan decked Salita immediately with a right hand, and Salita was sent down again shortly after from a barrage of punches. The fight was finally stopped by referee Luis Pabon after the third knockdown. The fight lasted 76 seconds. It was Khan’s first defense of the belt.

Photos: Frank Warren Promotions

Click the photo to go to the next photo

In a WBO lightweight eliminator, WBO #2 Kevin Mitchell (30-0, 22 KOs) won a twelve round unanimous decision over WBO #11 Breidis Prescott (21-2, 18 KOs). Mitchell, moving up from the 130lb ranks, simply outboxed Amir Khan’s lone conqueror in earning a 119-110, 118-111, 117-111.

Former WBO super featherweight champion Alex Arthur (27-3, 20 KOs) was upset by unheralded Nigel Wright (21-6-1, 9 KOs) over eight rounds in a lightweight clash. The bout was scored 78-76 by the referee.

Former WBO cruiserweight champion Enzo Maccarinelli (30-4, 23 KOs) scored a first round KO over Kirstian Jaksi (6-13-4, 0 KOs). A KO loser in three of his last four, Maccarinelli was too much for the overmatched Jaksi.

Featherweight John Simpson (21-6, 9 KOs) made a nice request for him to be rated in the nearest future with the seventh round stoppage of usually durable Stevie Bell (18-2-2, 5 KOs) in the second defence of his Commonwealth 126lb title. Simpson was just too tought and too aggressive for Bell and gradually broke him down. The fight was stopped at 2:02 of the seventh round, when Bell’s condition was too poor to let him continue.

2008 Olympians James DeGale, Billy Joe Saunders and Frankie Gavin were all victorious in their fights.

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.