Boxing Result

Ivan Morales wins in U.S. debut

By Felipe Leon at ringside

In an undoubtedly a ten round learning experience, undefeated WBC super flyweight Inter champion Ivan Morales (18-0, 12 KOs) retained his title with a unanimous technical decision over former world title challenger Luis “Titi” Maldonado (38-9-1, 29 KOs) on Saturday night at the Pechanga Resort and Casino in Temecula, California. Maldonado was the busier of the two as he pushed forward on his fellow southpaw for the majority of the entertaining face off while Morales scored with the better and harder punches especially a straight lefts flush to the chin of the veteran fighter. An accidental head butt midway through the tenth caused a cut over the left eye of Morales which prompted the ringside doctor to stop the fight. Scores were 97-93 twice and 98-92.

Cesar Martinez (4-1, 1KO) gave Jorge Porras (0-1) and his large following a bad night by not following the script and handing Porras a unanimous decision loss in his first bout. Porras won the first with more action but after that, it was all Martinez. Scores were 40-36 all the way around.

Popular East L.A. Featherweight Julian “Camaron” Ramirez (4-0, 3KOs) needed only forty-two seconds to stop Noel Mendoza (6-2, 1KO) of Phoenix with a barrage of punches after dropping him once before to start the round. The bout was scheduled for six rounds.

Heavyweight Francisco Diaz (3-6, 2KOs) darted in and out on the much bigger Daniel Gonzalez (2-2, 1KO) to score a steady number of right hands and impressive the judges to take the unanimous decision in a four banger.

Mexico City super featherweight Juan Sandoval (6-10-1, 3KOs) handed Aaron Acevedo (2-1-1, 2KOs) of Moreno Valley, CA, is first loss with a four round unanimous decision. Sandoval never took the foot off the gas and gave Acevedo a boxing lesson.

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.