Boxing News

Seroka wins vacant ABU lightweight title

By Ron Jackson

Jasper Seroka stopped Joey Stiglingh at 1:48 of the eighth round to win the vacant African Boxing Union lightweight title at Emperors Palace near Kempton Park on Monday night. Former South African junior lightweight champion Seroka (58.78kg) was just too experienced for the one-dimensional Stiglingh (58.74kg) who just kept coming forward and was picked off with stinging shots to the head throughout. Early in the first round Stiglingh was dropped to his knees with a left jab but was more of balance and did not appear to be hurt. Stiglingh came back well to shade the second round with some slick boxing, but from thereon it was all downhill as he was beaten to the punch. After four rounds the scores were announced as is the custom in ABU title fights with Seroka in front 39-36 twice and 40-35. Through rounds five and six Seroka dominated before dropping Stiglingh for a count with a chopping right to the head in seventh round. In the eighth round Seroka landed a left-right combination to the head that sent Stiglingh down again. He managed the beat the count but was in no condition to continue as cornerman Colin Nathan waved the towel at referee Thabo Spampool who called the fight off. Seroka improved his record 22-4, 10 KOs and Stiglingh dropped to 15-3, 9 KOs.

In the main supporting bout former South African light heavyweight champion Johnny Muller (87.45kh) fighting at junior heavyweight knocked out Kzito Ruhamnye (85.78kg) from the Democratic Republic of the Congo at 1:50 of the third round in a scheduled eight.

Other Results: Lightweight: Paul Kamanga beat Thulani Mbatha, tko 1; Junior welterweight: Adam De Moor beat Tshifhiwa Munyai, pts 4; Lightweight: Allan Bouwer, draw 4, Rofhiwe Maemu; Featherweight: Ashley Dlamini beat Mbulelo Transvaal, pts 6.

The tournament was presented by Jeff Ellis of African Ring in conjunction with golden Gloves Promotions.

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.