Boxing news, results, rankings, schedule and more. Boxing News -- 24 hours/day - Reload often! | UPDATED TODAY
editor@fightnews.comContinuously updated all day, every day!
Home Boxing Schedule Boxing Rankings Boxing Results Español Fightnews Team

Boxing Result

Sheika stops Kruger

McLean stops Faruq Saleem; Gingas wins
Emily Harney

Emily Harney

Three-time world title challenger Omar Sheika won an entertaining slugfest tonight against a game Theo Kruger in the main event on the 8th annual “Fight To Educate” card at the Verizon Wireless Arena in Manchester, New Hampshire. Sheika (28-9, 19 KOs) wore-down Kruger (9-9-2, 3 KOs) and took a knee in the seventh round after Sheika unloaded a barrage of punches. The onslaught continued in the eighth as Kruger was decked again. He beat the 10-count on shaky legs, but the fight was wisely halted by the referee at that point.

In the big shocker of the night, New York heavyweight Shawn McLean (4-4, 3 KOs) upset previously undefeated Faruq Saleem (38-1, 32 KOs) by way of a fourth-round technical knockout.

New Hampshire favorite Richard Gingas (10-2, 6 KOs), cast member in The Contender IV, defeated a game Robert Davis (5-19-3) in an action-packed light heavyweight bout that ended when Davis was unable to continue after seven rounds.

Light welterweight Danny O’Connor (9-0, 3 KOs), 2008 U.S. Olympic Team alternate, kept rolling along with another impressive boxing performance. The slick southpaw stopped Patrick “The Raging Bill” Cape (6-8, 3 KOs) in the third round with a perfectly placed left uppercut to the body.

New York super middleweight Hajro Sujak (4-0, 2 KOs) kept his unbeaten record intact, flooring Joel Lopez (0-4) twice with left hooks en route to a first-round TKO.

The 8th annual “Fight To Educate,” presented by MB Tractor & Equipment, in association with Cedric Kushner’s Gotham Boxing, benefitted the SEE Science Center, Bobby Stephen Fund for Education, and The Veterans Count Club.

    For all the latest boxing news, click here.

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.