Boxing Result

Silila wins South African jr flyweight title

By Ron Jackson

Bongani Silila won the South African junior flyweight title when he stopped defending champion Luzuko Siyo at 2 minutes 15 seconds into the ninth round at the Orient Theatre in East London on Sunday afternoon. In a rather untidy affair Siyo, 22, who was making his second defence made a good start and possibly shaded the first two rounds. Going into round three the champion appeared to have trouble with the southpaw stance of Silila (48.65kg) who began to score with stinging right and left combinations to the head and just before the bell he backed up the champion against the ropes before dropping him for a count with a straight left to the head.

In rounds six and seven Siyo (48.60kg) made a bit of a comeback and possibly shaded the rounds as he scored with left jabs from his awkward lunging style. However, from there on it was downhill for the champion as Silila landed with big left hands to the head against the tiring Siyo in round eight. From the bell in round nine Silila dominated as he battered the stumbling champion around the ring and put him down with some clubbing punches. Siyo managed to beat the count but soon afterwards after another series of clubbing punches he was in no condition to continue as the referee stepped in to wave the fight off.

Silila, 25, from Mdantsane who was the interim champion takes his reported record to 10-2-2, 7 KOs and Siyo from Duncan Village drops to 10-1, 9 KOs.

Undercard: Mini flyweight: Xolisa Magusha beat Ndikho Magadaza, pts 4; Junior flyweight: Luthando Bhaneti beat Thandikhaya Varhile, tko 5; Mini flyweight: Nhlanhla Ngamytwini beat Lonwabo Roboshi, ko 3; Junior bantamweight: Sithembiso Jaye beat Mxolisi Mba, pts 6; Junior bantamweight: Morris Lento beat Voster Maluleke, pts 6.
The tournament was presented by Mzi Mnguni od Eythethu Promotions.

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.