Boxing Result

Stieglitz dethrones Balzsay!

Photo: Moritz Müller
Photo: Moritz Müller

By Karl Freitag

Super middleweight contender Robert Stieglitz (36-2, 22 KOs) surprisingly stopped previously unbeaten WBO champion and heavily favored hometown favorite Karoly Balzsay (21-1, 15 KOs) in ten rounds to claim the WBO 168lb belt on Saturday in Budapest, Hungary. It was a good action fight that became a war of attrition. As the rounds progressed, Stieglitz’ pressure began to wear down the champion who had gotten off to an early lead. The bout turned for good in round nine when Stieglitz rocked Balzsay and followed up with a brutal all out assault. Balzsay went down at the end of the round but it was ruled a slip by referee Joe Cortez. In round ten, Stieglitz continued to punish Balzsay, who looked spent. Balzsay’s trainer Fritz Sdunek stopped a wobbly Balzsay from coming out for round eleven. Balzsay was taken from the ring on a stretcher wearing a neck brace, but appeared to be alert and not too seriously injured.

Photos: Moritz Müller

Click the photo to go to the next photo

In a clash for the WBO Intercontinental super middleweight championship, unbeaten Eduard Gutknecht (17-0, 7 KOs) won a twelve round unanimous decision against Josival Lima Teixeira (13-4, 10 KOs). Scores: 116-112, 116-112, 118-110.

Unbeaten Zsolt Bedak (14-0, 4 KOs) won the WBO European jr featherweight championship via impressive second round KO over Yersin Jailauov (20-7-1, 7 KOs). Time was 1:08.

Former super middleweight world title challenger Dimitri Sartison (25-1, 16 KOs) stopped Michal Bilak (19-10, 10 KOs) at :54 of round three.

Unbeaten flyweight Pal Bedak (5-0, 3 KOs) continued his reign of terror in the 112lb ranks, stopping Ravil Mukhamadiarov (7-31) at :44 of round four.

Unbeaten OPI 2000 welterweight Phil Lo Greco (18-0, 10 KOs) stopped Sebastian Spengler (14-10-2, 4 KOs) at 1:27 of round two.

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.