Boxing News

Stieglitz-Kiyota result changed from technical decision to TKO

The World Boxing Organization (WBO) announced today that the win of the super middleweight champion Robert Stieglitz over Yuzo Kiyota on July 13 in Germany has been changed from technical decision to TKO after an examination of the fight video. Stieglitz (now 45-3 with 26 KOs) originally beat Kiyota (23-4-1, 21 KOs) by a technical decision last July 13 at :40 seconds of the tenth round when the referee Celestino Ruiz determined that the cuts on Kiyota were caused by an accidental headbutt and due to fact he was bleeding badly, the fight went to the scorecards. The results were 100-89 (Alejandro Lopez Cid), 99-90 (Terry O’Connor) and 99-90 (Ingo Barrabas), all for Stieglitz. But after an examination of the video by the German Boxing Association (GBA) and its President Thomas Puetz, it was determined that the cut was not caused by an accidental headbutt and turned the result to the 10 round TKO victory for Stieglitz. The determination was accepted by the WBO.

    Help Support®

    For 18 years,® has delivered daily boxing news to fight fans around the globe. From the beginning, we have always kept Fightnews free to our readers and relied on advertiser support. Anyway, the Miami Herald, The Guardian, and Wikipedia among others have been using the “crowdfunding” revenue model, so we thought we’d test it too.

    Please consider helping out. You’re not obligated to, but even a $1 pledge would really help. And if we reach our goal, we plan to upgrade our server and maybe even nuke the ads altogether. Wouldn’t that be nice?

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.