Boxing News

Taylor returns to Johnstown!

By Kurt Wolfheimer

The Cambria County War Memorial Arena in Johnstown, PA will come alive on Saturday night January 23rd as undefeated hometown favorite, Andres “Taylor Made” Taylor takes on Phillip Jewel for the vacant WBF Americas Cruiserweight title.

Taylor (4-0-1, 1KO), the former 2006 PA Golden Gloves super heavyweight champion, will be in for no easy fight because Jewel (4-4-1, 3KO’s) possesses quite a punch, having won three of his four victories by way of knockout. Jewel was stopped in his last bout by Ryan Coyne (10-0,3KOs), who recently won a split decision victory over Tim Flamos (20-5,8KOs) on “The Contender” reality TV show. The card appropriately titled “The Flood City Winter City Rumble,” promoted by Team Taylor Made in association with World Class Promotions, will have five other highly competitive bouts.

In the co-feature of the evening, Pittsburgh PA’s Jesse Lubash puts his undefeated record against William “WW II” Wilson (5-4, 4KOs) of Oxford, North Carolina in a six round junior middleweight clash.

Durrell Richardson (10-4 KOs) of Youngstown Ohio will tangle with undefeated middleweight David Thomas (6-0, 5KOs) in an evenly matched six round battle.

Cleveland Ohio’s Dante Moore (2-0, 2KOs) will swap punches with Troy Nelson (0-1) Columbus, Ohio in a four round middleweight scrap.

Undefeated heavyweight Jabir Abdul Basit of Cleveland, Ohio will collide with Damon Clement in a four round clash.

Rounding out the card is a four round middleweight battle, as James Denson (3-3,2KOs) tackles hard luck scrapper Rakeem Carter (0-5-3) of Albany, New York.

Tickets Prices: Golden Ringside $62, Preferred Reserved $42 and General Admission $22. Front row corporate sponsor tables are also available.

Tickets can be purchased by calling (724) 513-1416 or at the gate on fight night, subject to availability.

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.