Boxing News

Tijuana fight awards

Story and photos by Felipe Leon

On Wednesday afternoon at the President’s Room of Tijuana’s City Hall, Juan Carlos Pelayo, director of the Tijuana boxing commission, held their yearly awards ceremony honoring the best of 2012. Former champions Erik “Terrible” Morales, Alejandro “Terra” Garcia and Victor Burgos were on hand as well as a number of city and state wide dignitaries including the mayor’s official representative Daniel Leon.

“One of the requests from our mayor, Carlos Bustamante, made to this commission when he appointed us was for us to increase the number of fights and to make the commission somewhat more professional,” Pelayo stated in his turn at the dais. “I believe we have accomplished that with new innovations such as reducing the minimum amount of rounds for each fight card. I would like to thank the promoters, Zanfer, Mayen, Olivaritos, PM, Gonzalez and Box Latino, for trusting us and having their events here in Tijuana and helping us become one of the most important boxing plazas not only in Mexico but the world.”

Pelayo also went on to thank the fighters who he mentioned without them and their sacrifice none of the fights would be possible. He also stated that his most proud moment so far as the director of the commission was the new blood that has joined his organization including new referees and judges and the fact that many of them were women.

Four divisional world champion Erik Morales was also asked to share his thoughts. He went on to congratulate Juan Carlos Pelayo for making it much easier for smaller promoters to put on shows which in the near future he hopes returns Tijuana to its 80’s hey day. “Mexico is the second most important country in the world when it comes to boxing. We had a boom of activity in the 80’s when we became one of the most important plazas in the country if not the world. We are there once again. Juan Carlos Pelayo has brought in new people that have helped make that possible because they understand the type of consequences as fighters we must make to fight and they try to help us in any way they can.”

The promotional companies Zanfer, Mayen, Gonzalez and Olivaritos were also honored for presenting fight cards during the 2012 calendar year. For the first time, the categories for fighters were split between male and female.


Prospect of the Year: Kenia Enriquez
Rookie of the Year: Sandra Robles
Fighter of the Year: Jackie Nava
Trainer of the Year: Viridiana Santillana
Official of the Year: Lorena Gaxiola


Referee of the Year: Christian Curiel
Judge of the Year: Carlos Flores
Fight of the Year: Enrique Bernache vs Daniel Rosas
Most Dramatic Fight of the Year: Daniel Sandoval vs Enrique Colin
Rookie of the Year: Luis Nery
Prospect of the Year: Hanzel Martinez
Under Card Fight of the Year: Daniel Ramirez
Main Event Fighter of the Year: Jose Cayetano
Promise of the Year: Heriberto Delgado
Trainer of the Year: Pedro Moran Jr
Fighter of the Year: Ivan Morales
Fighter of the Year (Outside of Tijuana): Juan Carlos Burgos

    world boxing association

    world boxing council

    boxing news tips

    philly boxing history

    All contents copyright 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 by Freitag Marketing Services, LLC.
    The information on this site cannot be reused without written permission.